Does anyone make New Years’ Resolutions anymore?

Tender Offers blog Cover

Well, here it is – a brand new year to make into whatever you want.  Isn’t it wonderful?  We all get a chance to wipe the slate clean and start all over again.  Just think of all the possibilities.  I remember when I was a child, the New Year started with a list – not quite like the list that I made for Santa.  No, this list was different.  Santa was usually all about what I wanted for me.  A list New Years’ resolutions was about what I wanted to do to me – how I needed to change.  Admittedly, the list of resolutions was not as long as the one I made for Santa, but then children have very little perception about improvement.  I certainly didn’t.  My list usually included things like picking up after me (something that really stuck), or not being disrespectful to my elders (something that I’m still working on, but it is getting easier as I’m getting to be the oldest one around.)  The point is though there wasn’t a lot of thought that went into my list.

As I got older, the list (if it was made at all) was more about losing five pounds or not spending as much money.  Yes, they were areas in which improvement could always be made, but they were still about me.  Now, if I think of New Years’ resolutions at all, it is about things I have to do.  In fact, I could probably call it my annual To Do List – you know, taxes, contracts, thank you notes.   This kind of list has very little relationship to self improvement.  It certainly is not about how to change the way I am or how I relate to the world around me.

As I write this I have to admit that I am in awe of the opportunity to really try something new and different.  What would happen if just once every day, I did something kind for someone else and that someone else did something kind for another person?  It could be contagious.  Instead of flipping off a bird, I could learn to smile and say “that’s okay;” or “I’m sorry;” (even if whatever happened wasn’t my fault).  What would happen if I actually listened to what someone is saying?   What would happen if I stopped and helped someone in need?  How about if I actually stopped and talked to the person who just asked me for money?  Would it hurt if I did one of these things every day?

Today, it seems like we’re totally estranged from each other.  We are more interested in being right than being caring.  What would it hurt if we were just kind to each other one time a day?

Okay.  Just for the record, this year I intend to dispense with my normal self improvement list and try something different.  I will have one resolution only. I resolve to be kind at least once a day.  I don’t mean artificially kind – I mean genuinely concerned about someone else, perhaps a co-worker, an acquaintance or even a stranger.   I will be concerned, companionate, respectful and to the best of my ability, helpful.  I will try a little love for a change, and spread it around.

So, how about it?  Does anyone out there want to try this too?

Leave a comment